VisioList 0.6 Released

Mark

Administrator
Staff member
Today we are proud to announce the release of VisioList 0.6, featuring several bug fixes, security patches, and some other user requested improvements.

head over to the downloads section and get your copy now

Enjoy!

membrain

I'm new at this, if I upgrade from 0.5 to 0.6, I just upload everything and then delete the "install" folder and that's it?
Wouldn't it be easier (for us) to just update a couple of files that you modified/tweaked/added instead of re-uploading the entire script? Some modifications we've done are lost in this process. Just my thoughts...

Thanks,
Mark

Mark

Administrator
Staff member
The instructions for upgrading are found in the download thread, for 0.5 to 0.6 yes simply overwrite the files and delete the install folder.

Every single php file was modified in this release, and several tweaks to the skin templates.

The only modifications you should ever need to re-apply are those made to your skin, but those would be minimal. CSS changes should be applied in user.css (which you don't need to overwrite, in the future I will ensure to remove this file from the upgrade bundle).

I manage many sites with frequent script updates, the best advice I can give you is to use good FTP software (like filezilla) that gives you the feature to overwrite files that are a different size (modified) automatically. This makes life much easier for upgrading all scripts. In the future we will be adding a "Diff" script to the admin panel to compare templates for changes, but there are plenty of these freely available now for PC and mac.

We did consider posting only modified files but at the moment it would dramatically slow down development, and would be prone to error, hopefully in the future this is something we can do though.

Mark

Administrator
Staff member